The Nobel Prize opens: the epidemic broke the tradition for the first time in more than 60 years and died a hundred years ago

 The Nobel Prize opens: the epidemic broke the tradition for the first time in more than 60 years and died a hundred years ago

Birthdays: a nearly invalid will

Please turn my property into a fund and use the interest of this fund as a bonus every year to reward those who have made outstanding contributions to mankind in the previous year. More than 100 years ago, the Swedish chemist Nobel made a will to establish the Nobel Prize.

At the beginning of the publication of Nobels will, Swedish public opinion was denounced. Nobel was labeled as unpatriotic because he did not donate his huge legacy to Sweden.

From 1901 to now, the Nobel Prize has a history of nearly 120 years. It has been awarded 597 times. 919 individuals and 24 organizations have won the Nobel Prize and 54 times have been awarded to women.

Photo: at noon local time on October 9, 2019, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2019 Nobel Prize in chemistry to John goodinaf, Stanley Whittingham and Yoshino in recognition of their contributions to the development of lithium batteries.

From the 1950s to the present, there is an interesting trend in the field of traditional natural science that Nobel Prize winners are getting older and older.

Scientists may have made important discoveries at a young age. However, there are tens of thousands of scientists who have made outstanding achievements, and the Nobel Prize Committee is increasingly demanding the reliability of scientific achievements, so it may take many years for the Nobel Prize Committee to win the prize.

History of making a fortune: why cant we pay out the huge bonus?

The Nobel Foundations money has been invested in treasury bonds, real estate and the stock market. However, financial management can not always be smooth. In 2011, due to the sluggish global stock market, the Nobel Foundation lost more than 19 million SEK in stock investment.

In 2020, each Nobel Prize will amount to SEK 10 million, an increase of SEK 1 million over 2019.

After getting the huge prize money, many of the winners spent their money on the follow-up research, and others donated the prize money.

Of course, some scientists choose to buy, buy.. Paul Nash, a British cell biologist, decided to buy an upscale motorcycle after winning the prize. Economist Franco Modigliani used part of the prize money to upgrade his sailboat. Philip sharp, one of the winners of the 1993 medical prize, bought a house with a history of 100 years. He said frankly, the prize money is really a good part of the Nobel Prize.

Every December, Nobel laureates gather in Stockholm. They can not only accept certificates, medals and bonus cheques presented by the Swedish king in person, but also attend a dinner party with members of the Swedish Royal family and celebrities. This is one of the most attractive social activities in the world.

After enjoying the delicious food feast with Swedish characteristics, guests can also participate in the ball held in the golden hall. Yoshino Chang, one of the winners of the 2019 chemistry prize, said after attending the dinner, I finally have the real feeling of winning the prize..

Photo: Stockholm City Hall hosting the Nobel dinner.

However, the winners of 2020 may not be able to express the same sigh.

Affected by the new epidemic, the Nobel Prize banquet will be cancelled for the first time since 1956. Before that, because of the two world wars and other reasons, the dinner had been cancelled.

The traditional Nobel prize awarding ceremony will no longer be held in December 2020. The award ceremony held in Stockholm and Oslo will be broadcast live through television and the Nobel Prize official website, and the number of live viewers will be reduced. The winners will be awarded Nobel medals and certificates at the Swedish embassies in the relevant countries or their research universities.

Sad thing: 155 runs with someone

Compared with not being able to go to the scene to receive the prize, some scientists regret that they have been lack of predestination with the Nobel Prize. Although they have been running with them for many years, they still cant get them into their pocket.

Photo: Swedish king Kar XVI Gustav (front right) presents a prize to Jean Pierre sawari (front left), one of the Nobel Prize winners in chemistry, on December 10, 2016 local time.

As the founder of psychoanalysis school, Freud, an Austrian psychologist, has been nominated for 33 Nobel prizes, including 32 Nobel prizes in physiology or medicine. In 1936, Roman Roland, a famous French writer, also nominated Freud as the winner of the Nobel Prize in literature.

I know that at first glance, psychoanalysts are more suitable for the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine, but his (Freuds) great works have deeply influenced the literary world over the past 30 years, Rowland wrote in the nomination letter

From 1930 to 1953, Raymond was nominated for the Nobel Prize 155 times. He developed a vaccine against diphtheria in the 1920s, when diphtheria was the main cause of death.

According to the rules of the Nobel Foundation, the information of the nominees and nominees will be kept strictly confidential for 50 years. In recent years, although the list of nominees has not been released, gambling organizations have listed some popular candidates, including the well-known Japanese writer Haruki Murakami.

In the face of the rising voice and expectation of the outside world, Murakami Haruki said frankly: it is the works, not the awards, that will last forever.

On September 23, the list of citation laureates, known as the barometer of Nobel Prize, was announced, and 24 scientific research elites were selected, including Dai Hongjie, a Chinese scholar and professor of Chemistry Department of Stanford University.

The opening week is about to begin. Lets take a look at the release dates of the 2020 Nobel Prizes (all in Beijing time)

Physiology or Medicine Award: no earlier than 17:30, October 5;

Physics prize: no earlier than 17:45, October 6;

Literature Award: no earlier than 19:00, October 8;

Economics award: no earlier than 17:45, October 12