Nobel Prize in literature: have you read their works?

 Nobel Prize in literature: have you read their works?

The topic of the Nobel Prize for literature begins to heat up as soon as October enters each year. Compared with the physics prize and biology prize, which has a higher threshold for understanding, the literature prize, which seems that everyone can express his opinions, has been paid the highest attention. With the publication date of the 2020 Nobel Prize for literature approaching, it is better for literary lovers not only to know the names of some popular writers. In addition to the only winner of the Nobel Prize for literature every year, other writers who can become popular predictors are also powerful experts worthy of in-depth understanding and reading.

Atwood, the Queen of Canadian Literature

Serious literature can be out of the circle

Margaret Atwood, a Canadian woman writer, is a very important existence. As one of the representatives of the rise of Canadian Literature in recent years, Atwood won the Booker Prize in 2000. Booker Prize is the highest award in the field of Contemporary English fiction and one of the most influential literary awards in the world. Moreover, although her novels are serious novels, they have out of the circle fans because they are adapted into TV series.

Novels like the maids story are also known as speculative suspense stories in Western critics. They describe the future, but not science fiction in the usual sense. Although future novels contain science fiction, they have strong cultural content. It tells the history of the future and makes it accessible. Atwood says all the details used in the maids story have happened in history. In other words, its not science fiction. Atwoods Gilead is by no means groundless. Like all future novels, its narrative time is based on a certain future moment and tells about the future that has become the past at that moment. It belongs to the future, but the story is not out of reach. And accessibility is the focus of future novels - according to the current situation of todays society, how it will develop.

In recent years, the voice of Atwood to win the Nobel Prize is growing. Her readers are also looking forward to the moment of glory. Even some people even expected the award speech for Atwood, and speculated that she would like it: when Margaret Atwood moves away the hard rocks on words and minds, what she presents to the world is a world that is both vast and subtle, a world that breaks through time and space, gender and style..

Milan Kundera, 91:

Is it not far from the Nobel Prize in literature?

Representative works: unbearable lightness of life

On September 20, 2020, Vladimir zelezni, President of the Kafka Association, announced that Czech writer Milan Kundera won this years Kafka award. Milan Kundera, who lives in Paris, responded by phone to the news that he had won the prize: its a great pleasure to accept this award, and its a great honor for him.

Kundera, 91, was born in the Czech Republic and has lived in France since 1975. Zelezni said the jury appreciated Kunderas life-long work, which has been translated into more than 40 languages and has made an extraordinary contribution to Czech culture. Kundera has been writing in French since the 1990s. His works include joke (1967), unbearable lightness of life (1984), laughing and forgetting book (1978), immortality (1990) and celebration of meaninglessness (2013). In particular, living elsewhere and unbearable lightness of life have a large number of readers and fans in China. The unbearable lightness of life was first published in 1984. The novel describes the emotional life between Thomas, Teresa and salina. But it is not a triangular love story between a man and two women, but a philosophical novel, which brings readers into thinking about a series of human problems, such as light and heavy, spirit and flesh.

The Kafka prize, namely the Kafka literature prize, whose full name is Franz Kafka prize, was founded in 2001 to commemorate Kafka, a great novelist in the 20th century. It is selected once a year. The winners will be able to go to the city hall in the old city of Prague and receive a $10000 prize from the mayor of Prague, as well as a small bronze statue of Kafka, which is based on the local memorial statue in Prague. The award goes to writers whose works are humanistic. In 2006, Japanese writer Haruki Murakami became the first Asian writer to win the award. In 2014, Chinese writer Yan Lianke won the award.

Cover news reporter Zhang Jie

Source of this article: Zhang Zutao, editor in charge of West China Metropolis Daily_ NT5054