FIBA admitted that Gobel interfered with the ball and missed the judgement and the referee on duty withdrew from the tournament.

category:Sports
 FIBA admitted that Gobel interfered with the ball and missed the judgement and the referee on duty withdrew from the tournament.


The goal was scored in the last 30.8 seconds of the game when Lithuanian center Valancunas attacked and fouled. The referee decided that the foul was first and gave two free throws. The second free throw from Varanchonas came out of the box. Before the ball left the box, French center Gobel beat the basket and let it bounce out. Then Gobel took the rebound.

Although the FIBA rules allow players to touch the basketball without leaving the basket cylinder, the rules strictly stipulate that they should not touch the basket, and the camera clearly shows that Gobel has touched the basket. The ball should be blown to interfere with the ball and should be counted. However, due to this misjudgement, the French team took the lead, forcing Lithuania to change its strategy and was defeated by the French team.

At that time, the Lithuanian coach had already complained to the referee, but the referee was not moved. After the match, the players and the coach expressed their anger to find the referee theory, which was still fruitless. Today, the official penalty came out, Lithuania was indeed misjudged. FIBA officials acknowledge that Lithuania deserves this point, which is a clear omission, and the referee on duty has been punished: they will not continue to blow the penalty in the next match. After the first game of Group L, the situation was clear: France and Australia were promoted, Lithuania and Dominica were out ahead of schedule. If Lithuania had not been misjudged yesterday, they would have had a chance to defeat France, and they would have a good chance to advance against Dominica in the next game, but they had already been pushed out of the top eight ahead of time. Source: Netease Sports Author: Editor-in-Charge: Ouyang Shun_NS4899

At that time, the Lithuanian coach had already complained to the referee, but the referee was not moved. After the match, the players and the coach expressed their anger to find the referee theory, which was still fruitless. Today, the official penalty came out, Lithuania was indeed misjudged.

After the first game of Group L, the situation was clear: France and Australia were promoted, Lithuania and Dominica were out ahead of schedule. If Lithuania had not been misjudged yesterday, they would have had a chance to defeat France, and they would have a good chance to advance against Dominica in the next game, but they had already been pushed out of the top eight ahead of time.